The Three Branches of Our Federal Government

The Three Branches of Our Federal Government

James Madison said, “The very definition of tyranny is when all powers are gathered under one place.”

And that’s why the United States Government is separated into three separate and equal branches—the Legislative Branch, the Executive Branch, and the Judicial Branch.

The Legislative Branch makes the laws. The Executive Branch enforces the laws. And the Judicial Branch interprets the laws.

James Madison was the architect of the US Constitution. And he was also the Fifth President of the United States. The separation of powers into three equal branches was his idea.

He told his fellow delegates to the Constitutional Convention he got the idea from a Bible verse, Isaiah 33:22, which described the “The Perfect Governor.”

“The Lord is our judge, the Lord is our lawgiver, the Lord is our king; he will save us.” 

Be Sociable, Share!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *